A Slow Start

This artwork is awesome

The Practical Mystic

Artist: Jekaterina Razina Artist: Jekaterina Razina

My head this morning
filled with white noise
churning, burning, yearning.

Self care: I do yoga.
Open, close, stretch and hold –
In and out, follow the breath.

But still, my neck is tight,
corded, stiff. My shoulders
bunched, too close to my ears.

Self care: I do morning pages.
I scrawl, my pen tears up the pages:
I, you, we, no, want, what? Fuck you!

I tend to my family: meals made,
bag packed, hair done, beds made,
house tidied, washing done.

Self-care: I walk.
A magpie changes my direction
towards a way less travelled.

The sun warms my bare arms
my legs feel strong and sturdy.
Everything is different yet the same.

I pack the coffee in the pot
and while it bubbles, I write down
the words that came to me while I walked.

And I notice, all of a sudden:
the Silence.

View original post 32 more words

Leave a Reply

